A Purple/Black Steelhead Tube Fly for the Weekend

Yes, I realize that I’ve already published two videos this week, but I’m on a mission to create fresh content for my blog and my YouTube Channel, so consider this a bonus post.

The fly featured here is a purple-hued rabbit-strip steelhead fly tied on a tube. My thanks to Brian Silvey for his inspiration. Most of the flies that look roughy like this are related to his rabbit strip fly. We just can’t help ourselves, can we. I’m quite sure that I will feature more rabbit strip flies similar to this but tied with different color rabbit and hackle collars.

The fly is so simple that I will not list materials but will refer you to the short version of this video at the Oregon Fly Fishing Blog.

The video posted here continues my pledge to post the abbreviated (land the plane, Jay) on the Caddis Fly Blog while posting the long, rambling, story telling version on my personal blog.

One way or another, I invite you to browse the world of fly tying and see if you can find ideas and techniques of interest.

My best to you all.

Jay Nicholas

April 2017

Leave a Reply

