New Fly Tying Video Library

Here it is in late March 2017 — I’m embarking on a quest to create a new video library of (mostly) fly tying videos.  I probably have over a hundred videos on the Caddis Fly Shop YouTube channel for the Oregon Fly Fishing Blog, but many of those are old news and I wanted to shoot a series of new videos that will reflect my current abilities, hair cuts, declining  vision, and ever thickening glasses. Not to mention new materials, fly styles, and my latest stories and opinions.

Here is the basic approach. Chris Daughters likes me to produce short, snappy, business-like videos for the OFFB. I prefer to produce long rambling videos that allow me to go on and on about materials, and fishing techniques and such forth, including all the mistakes and broken threads and non-cooperative feathers and the like.

 

So I’ve decided to edit many of these new videos down to a short business-like time frame for Chris, and then edit a longer (Director’s Cut) version for my own blog.

This has been fun so far. Finally, I’m learning how to edit video with transitions and audio. I even purchased a sound track to use at the beginning and end of these videos. I sure hope you can stand the guitar, because we’re going to be hearing it over and over again.

This pattern is the first in the fly series. I hope to shoot all kinds of fly tying instructional videos for this new library—but who knows how it’s going to go. So little time and so much to do.

Jay Nicholas, March 28, 2017

 

5 thoughts on “New Fly Tying Video Library

  1. Epic. Can’t wait to see them Jay! Glad to see you back on the vise and behind the camera, or video camera as the case may be. Cheers!

    1. Alan thanks tons for this note. I hope the steelhead have been good to you this winter, because they have completely ignored me! More videos are shot and are being edited already, so I’ll have material to parse out over the next several weeks! Take care….JN

Leave a Reply

