Coastal Salmon & Steelhead Primer on October 22nd

Please join me for a discussion of the salmon and steelhead in coastal rivers from the Necanicum to Elk River on Saturay, October 22nd.
Please join me for a discussion of the salmon and steelhead in coastal rivers from the Necanicum to Elk River on Saturday, October 22nd.

I’ll be at the Caddis Fly Shop on Saturday from noon – 2 PM to present a status report on 7 species of anadromous salmonids – with emphasis on spring and fall chinook, summer and winter steelhead, and coho salmon. I’ll also speak to chum salmon and coastal cutthroat.

My baseline will be graphics that are shown in the recently (2015) Coastal Multispecies Salmonid Conservation and Management plan.

Some of the graphics in this executive summary provide a great basis to discuss the status and trends in our salmon and steelhead populations on the coast from the Necanicum to Elk River on the south coast.

How many of you presently have a good idea regarding the hatchery vs. wild ratio for each species of hatchery and wild salmon and steelhead on the coast, by river and overall?

How many of you presently have a good idea regarding the trends in number of hatchery smolts released by species over the last 40 or so years?

How many know how the abundance of wild coho, chinook, and steelhead compare on the coast and in individual rivers?

These topics and more will be some of the key questions I’ll try to address on Saturday.

The Multi-species Coastal plan is unique — but I’m pretty sure that the underlying status and trends in these species are not at the forefront of most angler’s thinking.

Well, how can we pretend to be conservation minded when we don’t pay attention to the fish that we pursue, the same fish that ODFW is managing through the Multi-species plan?

I invite you to join me on Saturday, I’ll do my best to share what I know, and what I do not know, about these marvelous salmon and steelhead.

Jay Nicholas

PS: I’ll be using the same graphics I used at Royal Treatment Fly Shop last Saturday, but I’ve re-ordered the graphics and each of my presentations (being spontaneous) will have a slightly different emphasis. Want to question the impact of hatchery fish in our coastal rivers? This is a good place to have the discussion.

One thought on “Coastal Salmon & Steelhead Primer on October 22nd

  1. Hey, Jay, I cannot make the talk, but I’m looking at the report and I find it fascinating. If you have a PowerPoint or something to share, I’d love to put it on my blog.

Leave a Reply

