Great reception at Royal Treatment Fly Shop

jay-nicholas-salmon-fly-box

Monday morning, and I’d like to share a great reception I had up in West Linn a few days ago. Joel invited me to do a presentation and tie flies for folks looking for a respite from the Typhoon that was sweeping the valley on Saturday. The turnout was great, many regulars and all very kind people.

I had an hour to talk about hatchery and wild anadromous fish on the Oregon Coast – but that ended up being an hour and a half with questions still rolling when Joel dragged me out to the tyer’s table. Where people were already jammed around waiting for me to begin tying.

Bad photo, great crowd learning about salmon and steelhead on the Oregon Coast.
Bad photo, great crowd learning about salmon and steelhead on the Oregon Coast.

Although the photo at the top of the page shows my comet – boss box, I tied tuvbe flies for winter steelhead and managed to product about 4 flies in the next two hours. Rob Perkin kindly went on a lunch run and brought me back a delicious bowl of Mushroom soup to keep my blood sugar sustained.

Another back-lit photo at the Tyer's table on Saturday. I had a great time with all the questions from folks gathered.
Another back-lit photo at the Tyer’s table on Saturday. I had a great time with all the questions from folks gathered.

I had a chance to re-connect with old friends and meet several new friends who are, like me, dedicated fly tyers. About the time the Typhoon winds rolled into the valley, I packed up my gear and headed down I-5 to return to my family. Gusty but not too bad a drive. My supply of winter steelhead marabou tube flies is growing and I sure hope we have a good run with good conditions to swing fish this season.

Here is an example of a Marabou Tube Intruder - the kind of fly I've been tying lately.
Here is an example of a Marabou Tube Intruder – the kind of fly I’ve been tying lately.

Here is an example of the flies I have been tying the last week or so. Thank you Joel, for the invitation to present at Royal Treatment. Thanks to Nick and Josh also – it was great to see you taking care of customers at the Shop.

My best to you all and thanks for your kind notes and phone calls.

Jay Nicholas, October 17th, 2016

5 thoughts on “Great reception at Royal Treatment Fly Shop

    1. No Timmy, not recorded. But I’ll be traveling around giving the same talk at different clubs and shops in the next several months to there will be opportunities for me to share the information elsewhere.

  1. Jay my son and I enjoyed your very interesting and informative talk at RT.

    A question I had but didn’t have time to ask because you were off to tie flys was :

    why is there no reporting requirement for wild fish similar what there is for hatchery salmon and steelhead ?

    Thanks again for sharing your knowledge. Hope our paths cross again sometime.

    1. Thank you Greg. Not sure what you mean so please follow up so I can answer your question. When it is legal to kill wild fish, like it usually is for wild fall chinook, these are recorded on the punch card.The spawner estimates for each species are for wild fish. Wild steelhead, coho, and chinook that are released, voluntarily or by law, are NOT ACCOUNTED FOR. Is that what you are asking about? JN

      1. Yes I was curious about the wild coho, chinook and steelhead that are released for whatever reason and not recorded.

        Just curious if that wild fish released ( so far this year 21 fish–yeah) data would be useful in augmenting the spawned estimates.

        Tight Lines and Good Health.
        Greg

Leave a Reply

