Sea Run Cutthroat fly: Day One – thanks to David Wang

Jay Nicholas Sea Run Cutthroat Fly 1

Here you go David Wang – I will post one fly each day for five days – all will target sea run cutthroat trout, but all are also suitable to swing for summer steelhead on warm autumn evenings and cool mornings. No recipes. Nothing fancy. All tied on #8 hooks.  All wet damp flies. No rationale or hype. Just five flies that I hope to fish in the next month.

This is not something I would normally do, but out of respect for David Wang, Frank and Jeanne Moore, Mia Flora Sheppard, and my many fellow tyers, I sat down this morning to tie all five flies. It was not simple. Then came the photography. Naturally I forgot how to do that part and had to re-discover the process like always.

I do not have someone to nominate for this task/honor to continue, but will leave this to anyone to take up if they are willing and able to do so.

The days are pushing over a hundred degrees here in Corvallis lately. A cramp in my left shin is hampering my walks. Four more weeks ahead to get off the stupid stupid stupid anti-depressant meds. I should be ready to fish by then. Meanwhile, here is Fly One. I’ll take Courtney and Lisa to Farmer’s Market this moring for a few hours shortly. My best to everyone on this Saturday.

Jay Nicholas, August 20th 2016

Leave a Reply

