Three Days in Paradise – March 2015

Ready to head up to the lake.
Ready to head up to the lake.

This is a retrospective of three days in pacific City, my own corner in paradise.

Day One: I arrive at cabin about 8.  By 9 I have the boat hooked up and head up to the Town Lake.

Town Lake in March 2015.
Town Lake in March 2015.

 

By 9:10 I’m rowing out on the lake and ready to fish.

Echo Glass Switch rod with trout pulling on fishing line.
Echo Glass Switch rod with trout pulling on fishing line.
Small but feisty hatchery trout on Jigged Hare's Ear Nymph.
Small but feisty hatchery trout on Jigged Hare’s Ear Nymph.
Awesome rig for lake fishing: Foam Hopper with Jigged nymph about 4 ft below on 5X fluorocarbon tippet.
Awesome rig for lake fishing: Foam Hopper with Jigged nymph about 4 ft below on 5X fluorocarbon tippet.
Loading the boat to head upriver.
Loading the boat to head upriver.

 

At 11:30 it was time to load the boat and head upriver to meet my friends and swing for winter steelhead.

A nice kelt comes to net, swinging with ECHO GLASS 7 wt two hand rod and RIO IMow tip.
A nice kelt comes to net, swinging with ECHO GLASS 7 wt two hand rod and RIO IMow tip.

 

My friend Nate rowed his raft while JK and I yammered, we fished in bright sun, and eventually I hooked a nice big shiny kelt.  Nate netted the fish, and before I could set up for a photo, i promptly fell into water up to my neck.  JK fished me out, my waders full, we took the photo smiling and laughing, I poured water out of my waders, and we headed for the boat ramp.

Shiny winter steelhead kelt in sun, March 2015.
Shiny winter steelhead kelt in sun, March 2015. My nose is not as large as it appears in this trick photo.

 

Emptying water from my Simms waders in the shade, getting sand on my rear end in the process.

Got sand on my rear end and socks when I poured water out of the waders.

Day two:  worked at cabin when i got up at 3:30.  Met Jack Harrell for breakfast at 8 at Grateful Bread.  Then we hit the lake at 2 PM for trout and summer steelhead action.  We caught many hatchery trout and two summer steelhead. As we rowed to the take out, we met a young man visiting from California with his girlfriend, and Jack invited him to join us on the lake for a quick lesson on how to do it right.

Kyle joins Jack and Jay on lake.
Kyle joins Jack and Jay on lake.
Kyle photographs rainbow trout from town lake.
Kyle photographs rainbow trout from town lake.

In a few minutes Kyle is catching trout steadily and getting coaching from two self appointed experts.  I think he had a great time.  He says he will be back with his parents in the summer and wants to book a dory charter to fish the ocean then.

Day Three: serious solo steelhead fishing.  I start about 9 AM and fish until about 5 with no sign of fish.  Then a steelhead rolls, I cast, and it’s game on.  My day is perfect.

Winter Steelhead on the swing, 2015.
Winter Steelhead on the swing, 2015.

I remember reading about Roderick Haig Brown living and fishing his home water on the Campbell River, BC.  These days I feel like I’ve got it pretty darn good.  Paradise, near as I can tell.

May you all have your own days in paradise.

Jay Nicholas March 24 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Three Days in Paradise – March 2015

Leave a Reply

