Tube Intruders for Winter Steelhead, December 19, 2010

Tube Intruders for Winter Steelhead, December 19, 2010

Been working at the fly bench again this morning at 4 AM.  More of my original winter steelhead fly patterns layng on the floor, accumulating in a pile because they won’t fit in my waders.  This morning’s fun began with a nice juicy purple & black Tube Intruder.  Or should this fly perhaps be described as a Tube Leech instead of a Tube Intruder?

Maybe so. This fly, I note again, is an original pattern design of my own creation.

No, I have never met Tom Lalrimer or ever visited The Larimer website and never ever poached any of Tom’s winter steelhead fly patterns.

I might call this fly Nicholas’s Steelhead Burrito. Nice.  Clearly an original winter steelhead fly pattern.  Bet this fly will clobber the summer steelhead too. And dude, I do prefer burritos to tacos.  Hummmmmmm.  Wonder if anyone at Idylwilde reads my blog?

Jeff Hickman? Never fished with the man. Never let him walk me over to the edge of a soft seam, hand me a Spey rod all rigged with a fly, listened intently while he told me just where to stand, nodded when he admonished me to keep the first few casts very short, or used one of his rods as a wading staff. Definitely never let him pull me out of a river where I was drifting along, face down, feet all tangled up in a Skagit Compact, moments before I drifted over the tailout into the rapids below. Never.

Never met Brian Silvey either, or held a Silvey’s Tandem Tube Leech in the palm of my hand, so I guess this all proves that my winter steelhead flies, be they Tube Leeches, String Leeches, Egg Sucking Leeches,or Tube Intruders, are all original Steelhead fly patterns.  Never seen a Rob Russell Steelhead Intruder either; the fellow sounds a little shady to me.

Ha ha.

Jay Nicholas, December 19, 2010

4 thoughts on “Tube Intruders for Winter Steelhead, December 19, 2010

    1. Happily, no I do not. Well, maybe for fifty bucks a fly, but at that, they would be undervalued, right? ha ha JN

Leave a Reply

