Koffler 16′ Jet Sled – – – Fly Fisher’s Design

Here is a quick report on my home-equity loan, ummmm, I mean my Koffler Jet Sled.

Same thing, really, but hey, it’s only money, right?  And who knows how many seasons any of us have left under our belts.

Here are the specs, in shorthand. Length: 16′.  Width: 60″.  Flat bottom.  very stable fly fishing platform.  Power plant is a Yamaha 40 hp jet pump (60 hp motor rated as 40 hp at the pump).  Tiller with power tilt/trim, electric start.  Bilge pump and water wash-down hose.  Self draining fish box under front deck.  Battery and water wash-down hose under front deck.  Three portable 3 gal. gas tanks under front deck.  Anchor locker at bow.  Dirks anchor release at bow and starboard stern corner.  Tackle trays along both sides accommodate 10 ft fly rods.  Snap-in carpet in tackle trays.  Fuel filter enclosed under outboard.  Lowrance fish finder/sounder installed in covered panel on Port side under tackle tray.  Sand-blasted diamond plate deck.  Two removable seat/gear boxes.  Two oarlock positions; one allows rowing from seated position on front deck, the other allows oarsman to stand and row just forward of tiller.  Oars stow under starboard side tackle trays.  Koffler galvanized heavy-duty trailer.

Performance specs. A wonderful fly fishing platform for our Oregon bays.  The front deck and main deck are clean and open, if we simply don’t junk it up with too much stuff.  This sled navigates modest rivers easily.  It is NOT a Lower Deschutes river sled.  Perfect for my planned expeditions.  Will be a great lake fishing boat if I ever make time for that.  The Yamaha is quiet and idles down to a very low speed.  No need for a second trolling motor.  The boat goes on plane in the bay and zips plenty fast for my comfort with three guys in the boat and three full gas tanks.

Cost? More than I had hoped to spend.  No discounts for me.  Someone called Bruce Koffler and speculated that they were paying me a lot of cash to promote their sleds and tidewater prams.  No so.  I have not received a single buck or discount in this deal.  Period.

Worth it? Absolutely.  This boat gets me to more places and into more chances to have fun trying to catch a Chinook than I ever could before.  Have I sold my Koffler driftboat or 11′ pram?  Nope.  To each fishing condition and place, there is a perfect boat.  I need them all, I tell my family.  They just laugh and smile.  They know me.  Chris, do you stock pontoon rafts?  I just might need one of those things too.

Bow anchor & rope locker.


Box under Port-side Tackle tray for power controls (running lights, anchor light, bilge pump, water wash-down,  fish finder).

Bow anchor release.


Under Deck gear or fish box (lifejacket locker too).


Oar Storage under Starboard tackle tray.


Starboard quarter anchor release.


Under deck Bilge Pump.

Tackle tray with snap-in/out carpet.


Battery storage & Water wash down hose under bow deck.

Sweet.

JN

16 thoughts on “Koffler 16′ Jet Sled – – – Fly Fisher’s Design

  1. Looks like a ton of fun, I also have a sled, but I Have resisted taking it out into the salt. How bad is the salt on your jet, and what do you do after the day is over to clean it out? I only wish my sled look as nice as your new Kofler; very nice!

    1. Chris: I have not had the boat long enough to really know how the salt will treat the motor. But here is what I do know. I see plenty of guys fishing boats and props and pumps in the bay. So I figure let’s go fishing while I am alive and let the salt water effect come and do its best and I ain’t gonna worry. If i take the boat out i will take it through the car wash now and then, but mostly I am too tired to do that, but if I leave it in the water for a week or two weeks or a month, I just leave it in the water like I see everyone else doing and don’t worry. I see people running pumps and props that are many years old and they run just fine, freshwater or salt. So why not just go fishing?

      Hope this helps you let go and hit the salt, there is fun to have in the lower bays year ’round.

      JN

  2. Saw you out on the bay on Friday. How did you guys do? Was a great day. We were flinging the bug rods a little bit with only a cutt to show for it. Still nice to be on the water though.

    1. Hi Brent: yes it was good to see another set of fly flingers on lower T-Bay. We got blanked that day but had great fun as always. Heard the bite had been hot in that area but we missed them, apparently, by days,hours or whatever. Maybe you just need a boat captain who knows something about salmon. Ha ha! Hope to see you and family out there again soon.

      JN

  3. this boat is too well thought out for anything to be random, so why did you have the starboard quarter anchor release set at an angle? thx tim

    1. Tim:

      1. Pure genius.

      2. Because I normally anchor with the starboard side upstream, fish finder downstream, and want the “pull” of the current to be somewhat in line with the angle of the release.

      3. This keeps the anchor at the starboard corner of the sled when motoring at moderate speed from hole to hole.

      4. I pull the anchor into the sled when going on plane for safety sake.

      5. Note the custom “bunny ears” on the pulley to help prevent the rope from slipping off when pulling against a side current.

      Hope this helps.

      JN

  4. Jay, sweet boat. If I had the cash I would be after one of those, unfortunately I don’t, but I am looking at a slightly less expensive alternative. Wondering how you felt the 60/40 Yamaha balanced with the 16 foot boat? I am also looking at 16 foot boat by a different manufacturer. The builder was concerned about the weight of a 40/30 Yamaha on his 16 foot model. Have you had any trouble with the stern being heavy when not on plane, or say for example when rowing? Thanks and hope you’re enjoying that boat!

    1. John: The 60/40 is superfine on the Koffler 16′ x 60″. Main thing to keep in mind is that this boat is most likely much studier than the boat you are looking at, which is probably why your boat builder is concerned with the weight of the motors. The sled Joe builds are not like the Alumaweld 16′ x 48″ i ran thirty years ago with a 50 Merc pump. That boat had far less in the way of reinforcement and such. My boat has a front mounted battery box and fish box built in under the front deck which is also a casting platform, life jacket locker, and so on, plus anchor locker. Result? Plenty of weight in bow to balance the aft motor and stern anchor weight plus my 220 lb. carcass at stern. So no, my boat has no trouble with the 60/40 but it is probably not comparable to the way your boat would trim. Wish i could advise you but don’t know what to do other than rely on your boat builder’s advice. Make sense? JN

      1. Thanks for the reply Jay. I’ll chat with the builder and see if he can put as much weight up front as possible. Fortunately he is building it to my specs within his design, so I think we can modify a few things to get more weight up front. The boat will be 16’x54″, all welded, so should be fairly stout, but probably not to the extent of yours. Hope you don’t mind if I steal a few ideas from your boat! Thanks for posting about your boat.

  5. Your boat rocks!!
    I have a jet sled as well that is almost set up how I want, but I have needed rod holders.
    After seeing yours, that is exactly what I am looking for. Two questions.
    1. Do they get in the way when you are landing a fish or other any other times?
    2. What is the inside width of the tackle tray? I know you said the length is over 10 ft.

    1. The Tackle trays are wide enough to nest two fly rods with reels facing each other, rods outboard and inboard. The trays do not get in the way and are one of the Must-haves in my opinion. Best wishes with your new boat.

      1. Jay, my boat is coming along….Just wondering what kind of a bilge you are running under deck? I like the low profile of it. I also take it that your deck is not completely sealed, given that your bilge is ‘below deck’. Thanks for your continued input.

      2. There is a bilge pump under the deck at the stern. It can be accessed by lifting up a “hatch” on the deck just under the motor. There are lots of “ribs” for structural integrity running bow to stern under the deck and foam floatation sprayed in between the ribs also. This makes it a slow drain from the front deck to stern, but water does flow that way. There is also a lifetime supply of loose foam crud and aluminum chips that eternally show up in the little open space around the bilge pump, so every once in a while, it is a good idea to reach in and drag out the bitlings, eel grass, leaf chunks, aluminum rivets, and foam pieces. Otherwise, the mud and such will not allow your pump to function quite like it wants to. Good going on your sled. JN

Leave a Reply

