Blogosphere Questions & Answers from the Netherworld May 2010 Part 2

Blogosphere Questions & Answers from the Netherworld May 2010 Part 2

The Googlosphere is all powerful.

Part two of five.

Q:  Catch and release fishing

A: It seems important to note that I faithfully attempt to practice catch and release fishing all the time.  I often fail at the first part of the activity, i.e., the catching part, and thusly am not able to complete the circle by releasing my catch.  This is of no fault of my own whatsoever, and I blame the fish, the water being too high or too low, my companions fishing ahead of me, strangers fishing ahead of me, a fly too large or small, failure to fish a pink worm, on the tip of my Green Butt Skunk, or failure to have purchased that Burkheimer 7115 last month.  When I do manage to catch a fish, I practice the release part, 99% of the time.  This is a personal choice.  Many of my best friends do not – release – that is.  The question each of us should ask involves trying to understand if it would be better, for the fish, if a few more made it to the spawning grounds.  In this manner, my releasing a hatchery fish may not make much sense, but if I choose not to kill the beastie, that is my right.  Yes.  Someone else may catch the fish after I have released it and have a great time and take it home.  If I release a wild salmon or steelhead, and if someone else does not catch and kill it, it will almost certainly add to the richness of the next generation, one way or anther.

Q:  Did I catch a kelt

A:  Probably.

Q:  Echo fly rod

A:  Top notch.  I’ve fished Sage, Lamiglass, Eagle Claw, Fenwick, Winston, Scot, TFO, Ross, Thomas and Thomas, Burkheimer, Loomis, and Echo fly rods.  Still do.  Ain’t gonna give up on perfectly good fly rods.  Each of these brands is associated with first-rate rod designs and sharp people who build and distribute the rods.  About two years ago, however, I started thinking about focusing my fishing on just a couple of these rods.  I chose Burkheimer and Rajeff (Echo).  The Burkies are my luxury rods.  The Echo fly rods are my work-horses.  I fish Dec Hogan, Tim Rajeff two-handers, Switch Rods, Ion, and Carbon fly rods in the Echo line.  Why choose Burkheimer and Echo?  Burkheimer was easy:  top of the line,  unique, works of art.  Echo was an easy choice too.  I know Tim and the folks who work there.  Good people.  I put their rods in hand- on river – and found solid fishing enjoyment flowing from fly to spine.  Dollar-for-dollar, action-for-action, warranty and all, I believe that these Echo fly rods unsurpassable fishing tools.  Sometimes ya gotta fish a rod to believe just how good it performs.  Check out Echo fly rods here:  http://www.rajeffsports.com/

Q:  Egg sucking leeches

A:  These were formerly effective and popular flies for salmon, steelhead, and large trout.  However, careful resear ch has demonstrated that these flies no longer catch any fish whatsoever.  Period.  End of story.  Now,maybe if we tried these on Alec Jackson hooks?  Nah.

Q:  Fish harvesting – golf

A:  Sorry, can’t help here.  Fishing and golf seem contradictory to me.  No, wait, I do have a friend who is a fly tyer (excellent), fly fishing guide (excellent), photographer (excellent), and plays one hot golf game too.  Weird.  Maybe only because golf bores me more than the thought of tying 1 Million San Juan Worms.  Are there other flyfishing, golf-loving persons out there?  Dunno.

Q:  Fishing dude jay

A:  Why thank you.  Probably the highest compliment I have received all week.  Certanly the only….

Q:  Fly tying vise gizmo

A: yes there are such marvelous things as gizmos for fly tying vises.  Parachute posts.  Material clips.  Midge jaws.  Saltwater hook jaws.  Replacement jaws.  Waste baskets.  Rotational alignment needles.  Daylight spectrum lamps.  Hackle gages.  Widgets to hold completed flies on the vise post.  Scissor hangers.  Bobbin hangers.  Krystal flash hangars.  .44 Magnum holsters that keep your peace-keeper handy while you’re finishing that size 32 Griffith Gnat.  The list is endless.  Go get ‘em.  That’s right, keep the global economy in motion.

Q:  Hatchery steelhead no impact on wild

A:  Hatchery salmon, steelhead, and trout usually have some sort of harmful impact on wild fish – HOWEVER – careful analysis is likely to show that the impact usually ranges from neutral to a little harmful all the way up to really terribly bad.  The magnitude of the hatchery program as well as a lot of other little details determines the actual impact in each case.  There are, no doubt exceptions.    Remember, generalizations are fine if not used to excess.  Think this is an escape clause?  Ha ha.  Oh yeah, the question was about steelhead.  The likelihood of having “no impact” on wild fish is probably scant because we know that a butterfly wing-beat in Brazil could cause a tornado in Kansas, right?  Very modest numbers of hatchery steelhead stocked on larger runs of wild steelhead may not have much detrimental impact, but I can not imagine that they would have a positive effect.  Remember the definition of “bad fish”?  The mere presence of hatchery steelhead could tempt people to over-harvest wild stocks.

JN

Leave a Reply

