Ecological Interactions between Wild and Hatchery Salmon

Ecological Interactions between Wild and Hatchery Salmon.

This international conference, organized by the State of the Salmon www.stateofthesalmon.org just concluded. Distinguished scientists and fishery managers from around the Pacific Rim, including persons from Japan, Alaska, Canada, Washington, Oregon, and California attended, shared their scientific information, and …….

I offer the following translation of thoughts expressed in China, some 2,500 years ago.  I take solace in these thoughts.  The world I know today, the world the salmon know, is not “whole and alive” as I would wish it to be.

Perhaps, though, the world is just as it should be.  On this topic, I  think, I will not say more.

I will simply say that I am full of hope.  I am looking forward to tomorrow as a day of limitless opportunity ………

Thank you, all, for bearing with me.

JN

Words from the Tao

The ten thousand things carry yin and embrace yang.

They achieve harmony by combining these forces.

For one gains by losing, and looses by winning.

Teaching without words.  Work without doing.

The further you go, the less you know.

The softest thing in the universe overcomes the hardest thing in the universe.

Yielding to force is strength.

The bright path seems dim.

The easy way seems hard.

The greatest form has no shape.

The sky is whole and clear.

The earth is whole and firm.

The spirit is whole and full.

The ten thousand things are whole and alive.

2 thoughts on “Ecological Interactions between Wild and Hatchery Salmon

    1. I attended five days of this International Conference, give or take a few hours, listening to scientists and fish managers. I heard a lot. A little was new science. A lot of it was not.

      I heard statements so intriguing, or astounding, or profound, that they really got my attention. There was a lot of stuff to put a guy to sleep right-quick too. I wanted to share some of the the things I heard and started to write.

      Then I stopped, mid-sentence. Five days. So much transpired. I was mentally exhausted by the end of the week. it was unfair, i finally decided, to report a page, or even two pages of quotes from those five days. My head is still swimming in it all. No way to – – – –

      You had to be here, start to finish, to get the picture, the whole picture.

      The words, the thoughts of the Tao, gave me comfort yesterday, as they always have.

      May the salmon “live long and prosper.

      JN

Leave a Reply

